Chapter 66 – A Quiet Moment Between Lord And Butler.

In America, the streets are paved with gold.

Aloysius frowned as he tried to remember where he had heard such a thing.

The streets are paved with gold.

It is a beautiful image. I have no doubt about its beauty. Yet, the reality is gold was never meant to be trod upon. It is an elevated metal. It is precious.

To cover the ground with it would be a dreadful waste and a veritable insult to those who are poor. Why would anyone choose to waste gold in such a manner?

Lord Andrew side-glanced at him as they approached the wall. “You are a thought morass, Arden.”

Aloysius abandoned his strange thoughts. “I am sorry, sir.”

“Speak nothing of it. I do get lost in my thoughts as well. So many thoughts. Too many.”

Something in the tone of his voice caught the butler’s ear. “Sir? Is there a problem?”

“No, Arden. There is no problem.” The weary tone of his voice said otherwise.

“Sir? What is it?”

Lord Andrew stopped in the wall’s gap. “Life is complicated, isn’t it?”

Aloysius waited to see where he was going with this thought.

Lord Andrew leaned against the wall. He folded his arms across his chest. The glow of his gauntlets lit parts of his face, leaving the rest in shadows. “So many rumors and conflicts. I want to be home with my wife, Arden. It is so difficult to leave her alone every night. My daughter needs my discipline and guidance, but I so often feel that I am lacking. I fall and I fail. She is willful and headstrong. She is so likely to have her heart hurt or to be the subject of public disgrace.”

“Sir, I do not believe that your daughter is quite so loose-moraled.”

“I know. She is still young.”

Aloysius cleared his throat. “Sir? May I speak my mind?”

“Of course.”

“Sir, I know that your daughter seems…a bit chaotic at times.”

Lord Andrew laughed. “That would be an understatement, but continue.”

“Yet, you are doing your best with her, sir. I do not believe that she will grow to disgrace your name.”

Lord Andrew looked out into the darkness on the other side of the wall.

“Indeed, sir. I believe that she will bring honor to the Farlington name.”

“I hope so. Lord above knows how these rumors about you and I have tarnished the family’s honor.”

“Speaking of that, sir? Are you certain that leaving for America is the best course of action?”

Lord Andrew sighed.

“Is it truly in your best interest, sir? Would it not be wiser to stand your ground and defend your honor? Will they not see this flight to America as an admission of guilt?”

“This is not easy for me, Arden. I would stay and fight. If I had no family who could be injured in the crossfire, I would show them true Farlington stubbornness.”

Aloysius thought of James. “I do understand, sir.”

Lord Andrew sighed again before turning to face his butler. “And what of your son, Arden?”

“He will bring me pride. For he already does.”

Lord Andrew patted his butler’s back. “Come. Which way should we go tonight?”

“Towards the village, sir.”

Lord Andrew smiled. “As usual.”

Aloysius smiled in return. “Yes, sir. As always.”

As the walked through the gap in the wall, Aloysius said, “Sir? Is it true the streets in America are paved with gold?”

Lord Andrew laughed.

2 thoughts on “Chapter 66 – A Quiet Moment Between Lord And Butler.

    1. Thank you!

      I love showing the relationship between these two guys. It balances on the thin line between master/servant and just friends and it’s fascinating to write. Their friendship and the ugly rumors being spread about them weren’t things I had planned on when I started this tale. Both things just grew into the writing.

      Like

Leave a comment